SA Trots - Personal best at Pirie for Wayne Hill

11 June 2024 | HRSA Media

LEADING reinsman Wayne Hill equalled a personal best in Port Pirie on Sunday night.

No stranger to dominating a meeting, with multiple victories on a card a regular occurence, Hill won six of the seven races at the provincial circuit.

Finishing fourth with Unbecoming in the opening event, Hill then went on a rampage to win the balance of the program.

As such, Hill registered his second sextet, with the first coming in Victor Harbor on December 28, 2015.

Notching doubles, trebles and quartets seemingly at will, Hill also has four quintets to his credit, making him one of only a handful of drivers to win six or more races at a South Australian meeting.

Geoff Webster, David Harding, Dani Hill and Ryan Hryhorec completing the 'Fab Five'.

"I had a good book of drives which helps," Hill said. "I went into the night thinking I could head home with a bag full if things went my way, and to my good fortune, they did.

"I was also lucky to pick up an extra drive behind Scoob Operator which was one of the winners."

Trained by Martin Shrader, Scoob Operator opened Hill's account by scoring in 2:03.2 over 2050 metres as Delightful Major and Hesashark filled the placings.

Hill was then triumphant with Quick Dip, Magic Storm, Caulonia Playboy, Hellofasportsstar and Sheza Manipulator.

Set to be in action at Globe Derby tonight, Hill isn't expecting his fortunes to be as generous.

"I will need a lot of luck tonight," Hill said. "Some are going well, but are likely to struggle a wee bit.

"I like Mercury Rising even from seven, so $12 could be value if things pan out for him."


Related News

23 June 2024
Mac's back! Marshall's top pacer returns to winning ways
An impressive victory by Son of Mac in the Renown Silverware Pace at Melton on Saturday night furthered the case for trainer-driver Kyle Marshall to embark on a trip to Brisbane in the coming weeks. Sent out a $4 favorite, Son Of Mac settled parked outside leader Ooh Ah Listah before Marshall elected...
23 June 2024
David Aiken now a Caduceus Club Living Legend
David Aiken has joined an honour roll featuring the who’s who of harness racing as a Caduceus Club Living Legend. The champion trainer-driver was named as the club’s latest inductee during Saturday night’s Victorian Harness Racing Awards function at Melton Entertainment Park. The Caduceus...
23 June 2024
Magician chasing another Launceston feature
The Launceston Discretionary was first run as the Ministers Discretionary when Launceston hosted the second round of heats of the 2006 Inter Dominion series. It was renamed the Launceston Discretionary the following year and quickly became an intense lead-up to the Easter and Tasmania Cups. The race...
23 June 2024
Georgie Coram presented with Pearl Kelly Award
Georgie Coram is the 2023 Pearl Kelly Award winner. Coram was presented with the state's most prestigious honour for female participants during Saturday night's Victorian Harness Racing Awards function at Melton Entertainment Park. The award recognises the outstanding contribution to, or achievement...
23 June 2024
Lance Justice joins Gordon Rothacker Medal honour roll
Champion trainer-driver Lance Justice has now won Victorian harness racing’s highest individual honour, the Gordon Rothacker Medal. The 66-year-old, who raced champion horses such as Smoken Up and Sokyola in a magnificent career on the track, joined an illustrious honour roll on Saturday night...
Click for more