Magician wins the Ladbrokes Horse of the Year

13 April 2024 | Tasracing

The Tasmanian bred and owned Magician – which won the $60k Raider Stakes final, the inaugural $80k Beautide and finished fourth in the world’s richest harness race ‘The Eureka’ – has won the Vizpix Broadcast Services 4YO & Older Horse or Gelding of the Year Awards and the Ladbrokes Horse of the Year award.

The prestigious prize was announced at the Tasmanian Harness Racing Awards and Hall of Fame dinner at the Hobart Function and Conference Centre, Hobart on Friday night (11 April) in front of 100 guests.

In other awards, Smooth Machete was named the Medical Edge 2YO Colt or Gelding of the Year (three wins from five starts), Swiatek Leis the Tasmanian Trotting Club 2YO Filly of the Year Award (three wins from five starts), Reely Nauti the Launceston Pacing Club 3YO Filly of the Year Award (four wins from seven starts), Nyack the Cor Comms 3YO Colt or Gelding of the Year (eight wins from 13 starts) and Baby You A Song the Tasracing Mare of the Year Award.

Tasmanian Harness Hall of Fame inductees were associates David Rawlings and Horse the Yank.

Some well-deserved industry awards were presented, including the Tasracing Mini Trot Award to Alec Macdonald.

Driver Jacob Duggan won the North East Pacing Club Leading Junior Driver with Mark Yole taking out the St Mary’s Pacing Club Leading Driver Award with 99 wins.

Tiarna Ford won her first Tasracing Leading Female Driver Award with 27 wins.

Tammy Langley won her second Carlton United Breweries Leading Female Trainer Award with 24 wins, only one clear of her nearest contender.

Soho Summer won the Hardings Hotmix/DHRC Broodmare of the Year Award for a second consecutive year with performances from outstanding progeny as Sunny Sanz and Colby Sanz.

The Edgar Tatlow was awarded to Karen Dornauf for her time and effort in building the Carrick Park History Rooms.


Related News

29 May 2024
Kate targeting Queensland features with in-form mare
Kate Hargreaves is setting Ludacrous for a raid on the Queensland winter carnival. The Shelbourne trainer has been thrilled with the recent form of her mare, who has won three of five starts as a four-year-old in 2024.
29 May 2024
IRT signs on as stable naming rights partner at Melton
The stabling area at Melton Entertainment Park will now be known as the IRT Stables after a new partnership was struck between Harness Racing Victoria and the horse transportation giant. New signage was installed at the facility throughout the week to re-confirm IRT’s support of the Victorian harness...
29 May 2024
Barby recognised for his hard work at Maryborough
Jackson Barby was recently awarded the Pride of Workmanship by the Maryborough Rotary Club. The 26-year-old is honoured by the award, which recognises his commitment and dedication to the Maryborough Harness Racing Club over the last 12 months. “It did come as a surprise, I must admit,” Barby...
29 May 2024
TAB punters hammer the Captain before Melton win
The progressive Captain Hammerhead produced one of the standout performances at Melton on Saturday night and the result was popular with some TAB customers. Bets of $8000 and $4000 were taken on the David Moran-trained pacer before he sat parked to win the Hygain Pace.
Click for more