Wagga Harness Racing Club Announces Annual Memorial Night

25 January 2023 | Greg Gangle

Wagga Harness Racing Club is pleased to announce that its Annual Memorial Night Race Meeting will be hosted on Tuesday 31 January.

Each year Wagga Harness Racing Club pays tribute to past volunteers and Club members for their dedication and service to the Riverina harness racing industry.

Tuesday night will feature an 8-race card with each race name dedicated to past members and volunteers of the Club.

“On behalf of the Committee I especially acknowledge the wonderful contribution these eleven honourees have made to our sport and Club Management,” said Club President Barry McColl.

“Everyone is welcome and cordially invited to Riverina Paceway and witness the excitement of racing under lights on Tuesday as we recognise the legacy of some very special contributions at the Club.”

This year the Club will honour the following:

Don Alchin (Starter)

John Brasier (Club President)

Don Inwood (Life Member)

Robbie Jack (Club President)

Don 'Jingles’ McKenzie (Clerk of the Course)

Tess McKenzie (Club Volunteer)

Gordon McRae (Starter)

Judith Rutland (Club President)

Rebecca Rutland (Racing Participant)

Shelton Smith (Committee Member)

Ian Walsh (President)

Wagga Harness Racing Club was formed in the early 1950’s. The first race being conducted on the 18th of December 1953 at the Wagga Showgrounds.

Wagga Harness Racing Club moved to a new facility at Cartwright's Hill in 2019 with the first meeting held on February 18, prior to the official opening on Sunday, March 10.

The first race held at the complex was won by El Aguila for trainer-driver Neil Day.

Riverina Paceway hosts 52 annual meetings and is home to a pair of $100,000 4 & 5YO Riverina Pacing Championships as well as the $100,000 TAB Regional Championships.

For More Information Please Contact:
Wagga Harness Racing Club
Greg Gangle CEO
0499 852 060


Related News

2 February 2023
One more big task for Grimson before he heads home
TOP NSW conditioner Jason Grimson’s long Victorian campaign will end following Saturday night’s major AG Hunter Cup meeting at Melton. The 29-year-old has a dual attack in the $500,000 feature with I Cast No Shadow and Major Meister. Grimson will also produce former New Zealand pacer Invitation...
2 February 2023
Callaghan chasing a dream this Saturday night
SATURDAY night’s Group 1 Del-Re National A G Hunter Cup sees one of the strongest New South Wales contingencies to have contested the Victorian feature. Sydney-based trainers Jason Grimson and Belinda McCarthy will each be represented by two runners, all of whom have serious chances to win the...
1 February 2023
2022 Australian Horse of the Year Winners Announced
CHAMPION pacer King Of Swing’s greatness has gone to another level even in retirement. The Kiwi-bred, who had a long stint in WA before becoming Australasia’s champion pacer in NSW, was this week crowned Australian Harness Horse of the Year for a record-equalling third time. King Of Swing...
1 February 2023
Great Hunter Cup coverage kicks off tonight on Racing.com
The build-up, the drama and that winning feeling – the magical moments of this year’s Del-Re National A. G. Hunter Cup will be savoured by a big audience. Saturday’s 10-race program, including the 9.07pm headliner, can be enjoyed live and free on Racing.com’s channels 78, 68 and...
1 February 2023
Insiders: Adam and Ryan break down the star-studded Hunter Cup
A stunning field has stepped forward to take on the Del-Re National A. G. Hunter Cup on Saturday night and Adam Hamilton and Ryan Phelan have taken a deep dive into Australia's pacing heavyweight championship. The duo have fired up their Insiders special show for the Grand Circuit clash, taking a look...
Click for more