Website will be undergoing maintenance on Monday 28th May from 9pm to 11pm. Some website functions will be unavailable during this time.

HRA Merit Awards Announced

15 October 2009
Ray Sharman - 2009 HRA Merit Award recipient

Ray Sharman - 2009 HRA Merit Award recipient

Harness Racing Australia (HRA) Members have acknowledged the outstanding contribution to the national harness racing industry of Ray Sharman, Milton James and The Gold Coast Bulletin with HRA Merit Awards announced today.

Ray Sharman was awarded an HRA Distinguished National Service Award recognising over 16 years of diligent service on the Board of the New South Wales Harness Racing Club where he is currently the longest standing Director and holds the Deputy Chairman position. He has represented the Club at national and state level in the roles of delegate to and treasurer of HRA, member and current Chairman of the Inter Dominion Event Committee (IDEC) and as a Director of Racingcorp (NSW). Ray’s tireless efforts and steadying influence are attributes which have been, and continue to be vital to the Club.
Milton James is synonymous with the Fremantle Harness Racing Club (FHRC) having maintained an active contribution stretching over 55 years.  A bad race fall may have curtailed a promising driving career, but not his love of harness racing, with continued involvement as an owner, committeeman, administrator and delegate since that time, including a current committee position with the FHRC. Milton now adds an HRA Distinguished National Service Award to his previous awards including Life Membership of the FHRC (1992) and James Brennan Award (2007).
HRA also awarded a Joseph Coulter Media Award to The Gold Coast Bulletin in recognition of the unrivalled Watpac ID09 coverage with support through sport, racing and promotions departments of the daily paper.
HRA Chairman Geoff Want said the Executive and members were delighted to recognise these exceptional contributions.
“HRA is always very conscious of its history and recognition of those persons who have done so much for our industry. The new recipients are extremely deserving”, Mr Want said.