Harness Racing Australia Inc (HRA) is a federal body registered as an Incorporated Association in the Australian Capital Territory (Canberra) under the Associations Incorporation Act 1991 and earlier Ordinances (Association Number A00324).  The organization was originally established on 23rd December 1974 as the Australian Harness Racing Council Inc (AHRC), and the change of name was approved by the Registrar-General’s Office on 31 October 2008.

Membership is limited to the State Controlling Body in each of the six States of Australia as well as the six Principal Clubs.

The AHRC was initially created to administer the Australian Trotting Stud Book, to maintain a Central Register of Name, to keep records and to control and enforce the Rules relating thereto.

HRA is the forum and co-ordination point between the State Controlling Bodies for uniformity of rules and reciprocity of horsemen’s licences, registration of horses and suspensions and disqualifications. In addition, HRA acts as the national body in international harness racing affairs and is a member of the International Trotting Association. As a joint member of the Event Committee set up in 2008 with Harness Racing New Zealand, HRA is involved in supervising the Australasian Inter Dominion series (formerly under the auspices of the Inter Dominion Harness Racing Council Inc).

The object of HRA is to promote the Harness Racing Industry and to assist its Members to more effectively carry out their powers and obligations under their respective constitutions and Incorporating Statutes.

By reason of the State/Federal political system, each State Controlling Body administers harness racing within its own State jurisdiction, but the common bond is Harness Racing Australia.

  Queensland Racing Integrity Commission Tas Racing Racing and Wagering Western Australia Harness Racing Victoria Harness Racing South Australia Racing Queensland Harness Racing NSW Harness Racing Australia