New Season Of Grand Circuit Action About To Begin

09 October 2017
by Chris Barsby
All Stars: The stables of Mark Purdon & Natalie Rasmussen are expected to play a big role in the 2017/18 Grand Circuit season

All Stars: The stables of Mark Purdon & Natalie Rasmussen are expected to play a big role in the 2017/18 Grand Circuit season.

A new season of Grand Circuit action kicks off this weekend.

The 2017/18 Australian Pacing Gold Grand Circuit caters for both the pacers and trotters and began in 1977 and was designed to be the showpiece of the Australian Harness Racing Industry with horses competing from every State within Australia. 

Over the years, several changes have been implemented.

And for the first time, the 2017/18 series starts this Saturday with the running of the $200,000 Allied Express Victoria Cup at TABCORP Park, Melton.

The eight leg series run from October through to July next year and takes in the Victoria Cup, New Zealand Cup, Inter Dominion, Auckland Cup, WA Pacing Cup, Hunter Cup, and Miracle Mile before ending with the Blacks A Fake at Albion Park.

Total prizemoney for the series is $4.25 million.

The recently retired Smolda was crowned the Grand Circuit champion last season.

The Trotters Grand Circuit commenced in 1999.  In 2012, the Grand Circuit was revamped with the Trotters competing in a stand-alone branded series, Trotting Masters.

The best trotters will compete during a five leg series which commences next month with the running of the $300,000 Haras des Trotteurs Dominion Handicap at Addington in Christchurch.

It’s the biggest trotting event staged in south island and is held during Cup week.

Other features include the Great Southern Star, Australian Trotting Grand Prix and ANZAC Cup before ending with the Rowe Cup at Alexandra Park, Auckland.

The five leg series totals prizemoney of $950,000.

Last season, quality mare Habibti Ivy was crowned the Trotting Master.

Points are awarded during the Circuit, 100 points for a win, 60 points for second, 40 points for third, and so on, to last placing.

The horse with the greatest number of points is crowned Australian Pacing Gold Grand Circuit Champion and Australian Pacing Gold Trotting Masters Champion.

So, strap yourself in and enjoy the finest harness racing action over the coming months.

It’s the best of the best.


Bookmark and Share

< Back

  Queensland Racing Integrity Commission Tas Racing Racing and Wagering Western Australia Harness Racing Victoria Harness Racing South Australia Racing Queensland Harness Racing NSW Harness Racing Australia