A.G. Hunter Cup Reflections

05 February 2021 | Len Baker

Victoria’s Premier Grand Circuit Showcase event – the $500,000 (Group 1) A.G. Hunter Cup will be held at Tabcorp Park, Melton this Saturday February 6 and what a race it will be featuring a wonderful array of the best horses in the country headed by Victoria’s Lochinvar Art and NSW hope King Of Swing.

Unfortunately due to Covid-19 conditions, the usual New Zealand contingent’s travel plans have been thrown into disarray with a number of stable’s electing to stay at home.  

Named to honor the Trotting Control Board’s first chairman Alex Hunter who was inducted into the Victorian Harness Racing Hall Of Fame in 2011, the race was first held for a stake of two thousand pounds ($4000) in 1949 with a champion of the era Silver Peak successful for Frank Culvert, returning a mile rate of 2-11 for the 12 ½ furlong journey.

 A list of who’s who in harness racing circles have won the race over time including Amorous (Albert (Darky) Gath, 1950 from a 24 yard handicap), Ribands (P.J. Percy Hall 1954 - 48 yards), Sheffield Globe twice for South Australia’s Bill Shinn (1961 & 1962 - 12 yards), Waitaki Hanover (Doody Townley 1967 - 24 yards), Monara (Don Dove 1973 & 1974) and Pure Steel (three times 1977, 1978 & 1980 with Jack Ratzlaff and Ted Demmler (twice) in the sulky.

Champions Koala King (Brian Gath 1981), Gammalite  (Bruce Clarke 1982), Popular Alm (Vin Knight 1983), Preux Chevalier (Barry Perkins 1985) and Village Kid (Chris Lewis 1986) all etched their names into the record books at a time when harness racing was big and crowds flocked to the track.

Paleface Adios, the legendary people’s horse that travelled from his base at Temora all over Australia to places such as Perth and even Cairns contested the race on multiple occasions but couldn’t break through for a victory.

1976 was the last time the race was held at the Melbourne Showgrounds, with Graeme Morgan’s Truant Armagh victorious with Brian Gath aboard, returning a kilometre rate of 1-21.

A new era commenced when harness racing shifted to Moonee Valley in 1977 with the race changing to a mobile start.

Transferring back to a stand in 1993, Kiwi Master Musician (Robert Dunn) came from a 40 metre backmark to score in a mile rate of 2-02.8 for the 2840 metre journey, with fellow countrymen Derek Jones and grandson Anthony Butt taking the race in successive years of 1994 & 1995 with outstanding mare Blossom Lady who came off 20 and 30 metre handicaps.

There was conjecture through the years 1987 to 1993 when the race still called the A.G. Hunter Cup dropped dramatically in stakes and was held as middle rage event.

It reverted back to its former glory in 1994 (Blossom Lady) and has been held in the highest esteem ever since.

The race became a mobile once again in 2017 with Bling It On the victor for John & Luke McCarthy in a rate of 1-55.1.

There have been many memorable performances in winning  such as Yulestar (2000 for Lorraine Nolan & Tony Shaw), Safe And Sound (2002 John & Lance Justice), Mont Denver Gold (2003 Barry & Chris Alford), Elsu (2005 Geoff Small & David Butcher), Sting Lika Bee (2007 Brian Tuddenham & Chris Alford),  Blacks A Fake (2008 Natalie Rasmussen) and Mr Feelgood (2009 Tim & Anthony Butt).

The curtain came down on Moonee Valley in 2010 when Christchurch duo Catherine and David Butt scored with Bondy. The following year, David’s cousins Tim and Anthony Butt prevailed with Stunin Cullen as Tabcorp Park Melton staged the season’s feature for the first time.

The Butt’s have made the race their own as Mister DG (2004) Mr Feelgood (2009), Stunin Cullen (2011), Choise Achiever (2012) and Mar Sish (2013) were all victorious.

Outstanding conditioner Mark Purdon has recorded two victories (Smolda 2016 and Lazarus 2018) as has brother Barry with Vics Vance (1996) and plunge horse Surprise Package in 1997. Other notable multiple winners have been Eric Hurley and Minuteman (1964 & 1966), Bob and Vin Knight (Popular Alm 1983, Armchair Ride 1987, Sir Reilly 1988, while Stephen Dove partnered Odds Torado for the stable in 1991).

Reinswomen have been successful on four occasions - Tracey O’Sullivan (Our Brenray 1990), Kate Gath (About To Rock 2006), Natalie Rasmussen (Blacks A Fake 2008) and Kerryn Manning (Arden Rooney 2015).

The race is one of the great Grand Circuit events on the Australian calendar and another name will be recorded with dignity on February 6.


Related News

23 February 2021
Time Is Money: Tic Tact turns on the afterburners
Stawell trainer Chris Blake admits he was shocked by the performance of his mare Tic Tact, who produced an electric dash home to win in style at Ballarat last Thursday. The four-year-old is highlighted in this week's Time Is Money column, which focuses on standout performances from PJ Data’s valuable...
23 February 2021
Brown joins Bon for expansive industry discussion
Harness Racing Victoria (HRV) CEO Dayle Brown has described 2020 as a year that allowed the industry to “reset the clock” and has spoken with great confidence and passion about the status of the sport in this state. During an intriguing discussion with Trots Life host Jason Bonnington on...
23 February 2021
Great Southern Star rivals to battle in Grand Prix
The TAB Australian Trotting Grand Prix shapes as a rematch of the Great Southern Star, with the first eight horses across the line in that event backing up in this Saturday night's Group 1. Andy Gath's star Tornado Valley tipped out Rob O'Connell-trained Magicool in a thrilling GSS on February 5, but...
23 February 2021
Carnival of Miracles: Vics set to raid Menangle Group 1s
There was mixed fortunes during Tuesday morning's barrier draws for Victorian-trained hopes chasing Group 1 glory at Tabcorp Park Menangle on Saturday night. The Allied Express Logistics Sprint and Schweppes Sprint are direct qualifiers for the Miracle Mile on March 6, with the first two horses across...
23 February 2021
Excitement at the Track Could Reach Fever Pitch
Gloucester Park, the home of harness racing in Western Australia, is located on the banks of the Swan River in the exclusive precinct of East Perth. The course was built in 1929 and officially opened in 1930. Gloucester Park is perfectly positioned as one of Western Australia’s prime Friday night...
Click for more