J.D. Watts Award Winners Announced

23 September 2020

Harness Racing Australia is pleased to announce the J.D. Watts Awards to our sports highest performers for the 2019/20 season.

Named after legendary trainer J.D. (Jack) Watts, who trained and drove winners in all states of Australia and New Zealand in a fifty year career, the awards celebrate the nations leading driver and trainer.

2019/2020 Australian Driver of the Year


Chris Alford of Victoria was again Australia’s leading driver with 283 wins Australia wide for the 2019/2020 season. This is Chris’ 14th national title, his first being 26 years ago in 1994. He also took national honours in 2016 – 2019, 2012 – 2014 and 1996 – 1999.

2019/20 Australian Trainer of the Year


Grant Dixon of Queensland was Australia’s leading trainer with 290 wins during the season. This is Grant’s 8th J.D. Watts Award and second in succession. Grant was also the leading trainer from 2012 to 2017.

Remarkably, Grant’s title makes it 12 national titles from the last 13 seasons for the Dixon family, with Grant’s late father Bill the leading Australian trainer from 2008 – 2011.

The Members of Harness Racing Australia congratulate Chris and Grant on their outstanding achievements.