J.D. Watts Awards Announced

26 September 2019

Harness Racing Australia is pleased to announce the J.D. Watts Award to our sports highest achievers for the 2018/2019 season.

This award recognises the achievements of harness racing’s leading trainer and driver on the national scene.

Congratulations to the winners, driver Chris Alford for the fourth consecutive year and 13th title and trainer Grant Dixon on his 7th title.

2018/2019 Leading Driver of the Year


Chris Alford of Victoria was again Australia’s leading driver with 422 wins Australia wide for the 2018/2019 season. This is Chris’ 13th National Title

2018/2019 Leading Trainer of the Year


Grant Dixon of Queensland was Australia’s leading trainer with 340 wins Australia wide during the season. This is Grant’s 7th National title.