2018 Australian Harness Racing Awards - J.D. Watts Awards

27 September 2018
J.D. Watts Award Winners

J.D. Watts Award Winners Photo by Ashlea Brennan Photography

Harness Racing Australia is pleased to announce the J.D. Watts Award to our sport's highest achievers for the 2017/2018 season.

The J.D. Watts Award recognises the achievements of harness racing’s leading trainer and driver on the national scene.

Congratulations to the winners, driver Chris Alford for the third consecutive year and 12th Australian title and trainer Emma Stewart who has won this award for the first time whilst breaking the record for the most wins in a season.

2017/2018 Leading Driver of the Year


Chris Alford of Victoria was again Australia’s leading driver with 457 wins Australia wide for the 2017/2018 season. This was the first time a driver has driven more than 400 winners in a season and is Chris’s 12th National Title.

2017/2018 Leading Trainer of the Year


Emma Stewart of Victoria was Australia’s leading trainer with 309 wins Australia wide during the season. This is Emma’s first National Title and in the process, set a new Australian record of training wins in a season.