Chris Alford - 2017 Australian Driving Champion

28 October 2017

Chris Alford put another exclamation mark on his career in winning his first ever Australian Drivers Championship at Elwick, Hobart, earlier tonight.

A winning treble secured the title for the Victorian champion in a tightly contested series.

Alford fought off New South Welshman Chris Geary who led through six of the eight legs on the back of an early double. Geary won with favourite Buster William in the first race and outsider Itz Gemmas Delight in race three, which was the drive of the night. 

Whilst Chris Lewis did not drive a winner on the night, a remarkably consistent night of four placings from eight races edged out Geary for second placing.

But the night belonged to the man affectionately known as The Puppet. With wins on Im Born to Rule, Goggo Gee Gee and Semowillrev, Alford added the title of 2017 Australian Driving Champion to a long list of accolades in what is a truly exceptional career. 

Final Points Score:

Chris Alford    86
Chris Lewis    72
Chris Geary    67
Greg Sugars    62
Matthew Neilson    58
Danielle Hill    53
Ellen Rixon    53
Wayne Hill    51
Gareth Rattray    48
Ryan Warwick    48
Todd Rattray     47
Shane Graham    46