Ladies of Pacing To Be Recognised At New Awards

16 December 2019 | Lauren Prater

M E D I A    R E L E A S E


Nominations are now open for Racing and Wagering Western Australia’s (RWWA) inaugural Ladies of
Pacing Awards, which will take place on Thursday 16 January 2020.

The awards aim to celebrate the diverse role of women in the industry, with nominations open in the
following categories; welfare, leadership, dedication to harness racing and administration.

RWWA General Manager Racing Charlotte Mills said the organisation was thrilled to launch an award
dedicated to the many women who work and thrive in the harness racing industry.

“I believe awards like these are important, not only to applaud the many achievements made by women
in the industry, but also to showcase the diverse and rewarding career paths available,” said Ms

“I would urge anyone who knows a passionate and worthy candidate for any of the four categories to
nominate them.”

Nominations close Thursday 2 January, and the nominees will be judged on the following

•    Leadership Award: an individual who has displayed leadership qualities, trail-blazing in
promoting the WA harness racing industry or being an ambassador for the sport.

•    Welfare Award: an individual who has demonstrated a commitment to the care of retired
Standardbreds and/or created awareness, passion and care for Standardbred horses in their second

•    Dedication to Harness Racing Award: an individual industry member or volunteer club
participant who has made an outstanding and consistent contribution to harness racing through
horsemanship or their involvement in the breeding industry.

•    Administration Award: an individual who works in an administration role in the WA harness
racing industry who demonstrate exceptional skills in administration, media or marketing, or have
been responsible for an achievement that has added value to the harness industry in WA.

The Ladies of Pacing Awards Ladies Luncheon will be held at Optus Stadium, Thursday 16 January,
from 12pm – 3.30pm.

Nominations can be submitted via:

Media Contact:
Lauren Prater
Public Relations Manager
P: 08 9445 5168 / M: 0488 904 723