New HRNSW Awards announced

09 October 2018

A NUMBER of new Awards will be presented at the Arthur J. Gallagher Harness Racing New South Wales Awards Night at the Sofitel Sydney, Wentworth, on October 27.

This includes the inaugural presentation of the Indigenous Participant of the Year.

The nominees for this new Award are:

  • Jake Davis

  • James Sutton

  • Jimmy Brown

  • McKayler Barnes

  • Royce Gregory-Jack

Meanwhile, another additional honour is the Junior Trainer Encouragement Award.

The nominees for this are:

  • Brooke Wilkins

  • Jed Betts

  • Melanie Elder

  • Molly Turton

  • Todd Day

This Award compliments the Junior Driver Encouragement Award. Previously this Award has held a metropolitan and country division, however, it has been combined this year.

The nominees are:

  • Ashley Hart

  • Jake Hughes

  • Joshua Gallagher

  • Madi Young

  • Will Rixon

Among these new Awards are also the New South Wales Hobby Trainer and Hobby Driver of the Year.

The nominees for the NSW Hobby Trainer of the Year are:

  • Aaron Goadsby

  • Brett Woodhouse

  • Chris Hughes

  • David Eurell

  • Wayne Sullivan

The nominees for the NSW Hobby Driver of the Year are:

  • Anthony Adams

  • Ashleigh Camilleri

  • Matthew Harding

  • Stephen Maguire

  • Wayne Sullivan

Meanwhile, the nominees for the NSW Owner of the Year are:

  • Brett Woodhouse

  • Geoff Black

  • Sally Woodhouse

  • Shane Felke

  • Stephen Hunt

And the nominees for NSW Breeder of the Year are:

  • Bruce Harpley

  • Cheryl McDowell

  • Colin McDowell

  • Roger Bazely Syndicate

  • Scott McDonald

Harness Racing New South Wales would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all of the nominees and look forward to the Award announcements on Saturday October 27 at the Sofitel Sydney, Wentworth.

For tickets to the event please contact Kate Dumesny at or (02) 9722 6672.


Harness Racing NSW (HRNSW) is the controlling body for harness racing in New South Wales with responsibility for commercial and regulatory management of the industry including 33 racing clubs across the State.  HRNSW is headed by a Board of Directors and is independent of Government.



(02) 9722 6600 • •  @Amanda_Rando