

2018 - QUEENSLAND YOUNG DRIVERS CHAMPIONSHIP

1. The Series

- 1.1 Ten young drivers will compete in a series of six (6) heats at Redcliffe & Albion Park.
- 1.2 Total prizemoney of \$36,700 will be on offer for the six (6) heats.
- 1.3 All heats will be PENALTY EXEMPT winning horses will not take a penalty for their win.
- 1.4 Driver fees are payable to drivers competing in the series.

2. Selection and Eligibility of Drivers

- 2.1 The selected drivers will be chosen using the following criteria:
 - a) Drivers must have been aged 22 years or under as at **31** August 2017.
 - b) Drivers must hold an A Grade driver's licence as at Monday, **7**May 2018. However, if insufficient A Grade young drivers are available at time of conduct of the series, B Grade drivers may be selected (i) based on their current standing in the 2017/18

 Queensland Drivers Premiership (ii) lifetime wins.
 - c) Ten (10) drivers will be selected to compete.
 - d) The top three (3) drivers, subject to clauses a) and b), on the **2017/18** Queensland Driver's Premiership as at Monday, **7 May 2018** will gain automatic selection.
 - e) The remaining seven (7) drivers, subject to clauses a) and b), will be selected from those that have driven the most lifetime winners as at Monday, **7 May 2018**.
 - f) Should two (2) or more drivers qualify for the last position in the series, the final driver selected will be the one with the best percentage of overall winners to starters.
 - g) The driver ranked 11th shall be the standby driver for the series.
 - h) The standby driver shall be in attendance at each meeting where the heats are run in case a driver is not able to fulfil their engagement. Should the standby driver not drive in a race, they shall receive \$50 **per meeting** for being in attendance.
- 2.2 Drivers unable to contest the series should advise the Handicapper no later than 4.00pm on Thursday, **10 May 2018**.

3. Series Conditions

3.1 Drivers will be randomly drawn a letter, as per the table below, and are to drive the horses drawn in the allocated barriers in each corresponding heat:

Drivers Position hereunder to be Balloted	Heat One	Heat Two	Heat Three	Heat Four	Heat Five	Heat Six
Α	1	10	5	6	3	8
В	2	9	3	8	5	6
С	3	8	4	7	2	9
D	4	7	2	9	1	10
Е	5	6	1	10	4	7
F	6	5	10	1	7	4
G	7	4	9	2	10	1
Н	8	3	7	4	9	2
I	9	2	8	3	6	5
J	10	1	6	5	8	3

- 3.2 A driver will not be eligible to drive a horse which they have trained, has been trained by an employer or driven by that driver from 1 January 2018 to race day.
- 3.3 To maintain the integrity of the Series horses currently owned or trained by participating drivers are not eligible to compete.
- 3.4 Should a driver not be able to drive a horse under clause 3.2:
 - a) They will change with the driver that has drawn to the immediate outside on the same line.
 - b) If the driver has drawn the outside of a line, they will change with the driver that has drawn to the immediate inside on the same line.
- 3.5 Points shall be awarded to each driver on the following basis:

10 St	10 Starters 9		rters	8 Starters		7 Starters	
Place	Points	Place	Points	Place	Points	Place	Points
1 st	17	1	16	1	15	1	14
2 nd	12	2	11	2	10	2	9
3 rd	9	3	8	3	7	3	6
4 th	7	4	6	4	5	4	4
5 th	6	5	5	5	4	5	3
6 th	5	6	4	6	3	6	2
7 th	4	7	3	7	2	7	1
8 th	3	8	2	8	1		
9 th	2	9	1				
10 th	1						



3.5 If a horse is withdrawn from any heat, the driver of the withdrawn horse will receive the median points, based on finishing midfield:

9 Starters		8 Sta	rters	7 Starters		
Place	Points	Place	Points	Place	Points	
5 th	5	$4^{th} - 5^{th}$	4.5	4 th	4	

- 3.6 If a driver fails to gain a start in a Heat due to insufficient acceptors five (5) points will be awarded to that driver
- 3.7 In the event of a dead heat for any placing in any race, the points for the horses involved in the dead heat will be added together and divided equally.
- 3.8 No points will be awarded to any driver who fails to finish a heat.
- 3.9 In the event a driver cannot take their place in a race, the standby driver shall replace that driver. The points earned by the standby driver will be allocated to their own personal tally.
- 3.10 In the event a driver cannot take their place in a race which had insufficient acceptors, the driver who failed to gain a drive in the race will be selected to drive before the standby driver.
- 3.11 The driver after the running of the six (6) heats with the highest points tally will be declared the winner of the series.
- 3.12 In the event of a tie for the highest points tally a count-back system will be conducted using the following criteria as follows:
 - a) The driver with the most heat wins will be declared the winner, if equal,
 - b) The driver with the most 2nd placing's; will be declared the winner, if equal,
 - c) The driver with the most 3rd placing's will be declared the winner and so on until there is a winner.
- 3.13 In the event that there is a tie on the count back system then the drivers involved will be declared joint winners.



4. Race Schedule

4.1 The series will be conducted as per the following schedule:

17 May	Albion Park	C3/C4	\$5,950	MS	2138m
17 May	Albion Park	C1/C2	\$5,950	MS	1660m
18 May	Redcliffe	C2/C3	\$4,450	MS	2040m
18 May	Redcliffe	C1	\$4,450	MS	1780m
19 May	Albion Park	Band 5	\$7,950	MS	2138m
19 May	Albion Park	Qual. Pace	\$7,950	MS	1660m

4.2 Heat Numbers will be determined at the time of the race order being released. For example, (Heat 1) will be the first heat conducted at Redcliffe.