Manning, Rasmussen join all-star field of lady drivers

10 February 2018 | Michael Court
Martelle Maguire winning last year’s Lexus of Macarthur Lady Drivers’ Invitational

Martelle Maguire winning last year’s Lexus of Macarthur Lady Drivers’ Invitational Photo by Lett Photography

TWO absolute superstars of harness racing have joined the field for the prestigious Lexus of Macarthur Lady Drivers’ Invitational Race at Tabcorp Park Menangle on Miracle Mile night, Saturday, February 24.

Natalie Rasmussen and Kerryn Manning will be driving in this annual event, which has a history of showcasing the best lady drivers from all around Australasia.

Many of the stars are based in New South Wales these days, which gives the locals a great chance of matching their skills with two of the most decorated women drivers the sport has ever had.

Club Menangle and Lexus of Macarthur today announced the field for this year’s race would consist of:

Amanda Turnbull 

Lauren Tritton 

Ashlee Grives 

Martelle Maguire 

Ellen Rixon 

KerryAnn Turner 

Angela Hedges   

Emma Turnbull 

Kerryn Manning 

Nat Rasmussen 

While Rasmussen and Manning confirmed their attendance, the NSW-based drivers were selected from last season’s premiership, except for Martelle Maguire, who is the reigning champion from last year’s feature.

Of course, if one of the drivers does have a horse engaged as a trainer, there are three more enthusiastic young drivers waiting to step into the spotlight and take their places.

They are:

Madi Young, Mckaylar Barnes and Laura Spencer.

On a star-studded night’s harness racing, featuring the $750,000 Ainsworth Miracle Mile and an incredible five more Group One features, the $25,000 Lexus Lady Drivers Invitational will attract plenty of interest as our best women drivers battle for supremacy.