AHRC Awards

25 November 2004


At Council¿s recent Annual General Meeting in Sydney, the following National Awards were given for outstanding achievement. Those honoured are:¿

AHRC Distinguished Service Awards¿

Mr George Aiken of Kensington, NSW¿

George Aiken¿s lifetime involvement has focussed on the sales, marketing and breeding areas of our industry with involvement in the Australian Pacing Gold and other Sales Auctioneering Events.¿ He was extensively involved in the importation of Stallions and export of racehorses to the American Continent for many industry participants. He raced True Roman amongst other horses.¿ In addition, his administrative contribution occurred on the Committee of the New South Wales Harness Racing Club in the early 1980¿s.¿

Dr Diane Ryan of Thirlmere, NSW¿

Dr Diane Ryan was a Member of the Board of Harness Racing New South Wales between 1995 and 2002.¿ In this role, she served in the roles of Deputy Chair and on the Regulatory Committee. In addition, she represented Harness Racing New South Wales as an Accredited Representative on the Australian Harness Racing Council.¿ Here, she was a key Member of the Artificial Breeding and the Review of Prohibited Substance Sub-Committees during regular reviews of the National Rules.¿ As a result of her corporate background, animal welfare experience and veterinary knowledge, she successfully chaired the TC02 Review and presented an international paper for Australia at the World Trotting Conference in Finland.¿¿

AHRC Meritorious Service Awards¿

The Australian Harness Racing Council has initiated a program of national recognition with an emphasis on Studmaster recognition in conjunction with AHRC Members and the State Members of the Australian Standardbred Breeders Association.¿ This initial group of awards reflects the important role and contribution that the Studmaster has made in the Australian breeding of Standardbreds.¿ Others will follow in the future. Those honoured are:¿

Mr R.J. Vanstone, Riawara Stud, Williamstown, SA
Mr L. Plunkett, Berriedale Stud, Westbury, Tas
Mr M. & Mrs S. Lichtwark, Goldrush Lodge, Biddeston, Qld
Mr J.L. Gibson, Success Stud, Young, NSW
Mr R. Vandyke, Peppertree Farm, Cowra, NSW
Mr G. & Mrs L. Ward, Lynrose Stud, Katunga, Vic
Mr A. Galloway, Alabar Farms, Echuca, Vic¿¿

As the retiring Chairman from Council, I wish to personally congratulate the Award recipients for their contribution to the Australian Harness Racing Industry.¿

I wish you all well in the future.¿¿

Mick Lombardo

19 November 2004.


Related News

13 October 2021
Vic - Remember to register your foals with HRV
Harness Racing Victoria (HRV) issues a reminder to owners, breeders and studs to register their foals. To avoid any possible fees and to ensure that your foal is freeze branded and microchipped by HRV, the Certificate of Service (Foal Notification) form must be completed and returned to HRV as soon as...
8 October 2021
NSW: Notice to Industry - Hendra Virus
Hendra Virus has, this week, been reported on a property at West Wallsend in the Newcastle area in 7 year old unvaccinated clydesdale. It is particularly noteworthy as it represents the most southerly latitude that known Hendra Virus cases have been diagnosed. Link to Chief Officer Bulletin - Variant...
8 October 2021
NSW: Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Information for Race Meetings, trials & Training Facilities
COVID TESTS HRNSW advises industry participants that a negative PCR COVID test will continue to be required in the Greater Sydney Area (Menangle, Penrith, Bankstown) until such time as the 80% double vaccination level is confirmed by NSW Government. Any Licensee attending a Metropolitan meeting, public...
6 October 2021
NSW: Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Pathway Protocols
The following HRNSW COVID-19 Protocols will apply to fully vaccinated participants. For the avoidance of doubt two inoculations are required unless a medical exemption satisfactory to HRNSW has been provided. Segregation of participants and on-course patrons will be enforced until 12.01am on Sunday 12...
24 September 2021
NSW: Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Restrictions Important Vaccination Information
HRNSW reminds participants that NSW Government Health Orders currently require authorised persons who enter into or exit any of the following LGAs of concern to have received, as a minimum, their first COVID-19 vaccination: Bayside Blacktown Burwood Campbelltown Canterbury-Bankstown Cumberland Fairfield...
Click for more