HRA Merit Awards

14 November 2010
Neil Busse - 2010 HRA Merit Award Recipient

Neil Busse - 2010 HRA Merit Award Recipient

Former Harness Racing Victoria (HRV) Chairman Mr Neil Busse has been awarded Harness Racing Australia’s (HRA) highest individual honour, the J.P. Stratton Award and former Harness Racing Queensland (HRQ) Board Member Mr David (Dave) Knudsen (dec.), the HRA Distinguished Service Medal for their outstanding service and contributions to the Australian harness racing industry.

The J.P. Stratton Award recognises significant achievement, leadership, distinction, eminence, repute, renown, foresight, initiative, innovation and creativity on an international or national basis, over a significant period of time and has only been awarded on 16 previous occasions. Mr Busse received his award from HRA Chairman Mr Geoff Want during the Gordon Rothacker Medal function at Tabcorp Park Melton last night.


Mr Busse stepped down in March this year after almost 10 years as Chairman of HRV, during which time he also served on the HRA Executive, two years as HRA Deputy Chair.  Mr Busse was also a director of Sport 927 for ten years and Chairman of HRV Management, the company set up to manage the Melton project for five years – a project for which he had remarkable passion, foresight and energy which has left a marvellous legacy for the Victorian industry.

The HRA Distinguished Service Medal recognises important achievement, substantive effort, enterprise, endeavour, creativity and professional excellence on a national or state basis over a long period of time.  Until his untimely and recent death, Mr Knudsen was continuing to serve an industry he clearly loved.

Mr Knudsen’s harness racing involvement spanned forty years in various roles including as a proud owner, casual steward, major industry sponsor via Dave Knudsen Retravision, Chairman of the Albion Park Harness Racing Club and director of HRQ.

HRA Chairman Mr Want said the Executive and Members were delighted to recognise both Mr Busse and Mr Knudsen for their lasting contribution to the national harness racing industry.

"The HRA is always very conscious of its history and recognising those people who have done so much for our industry," Mr Want said. “These latest Awards are acknowledgement by everyone in the industry of exceptional effort and these two gentlemen are extremely deserving." 

For further information contact:   Andrew Kelly  03 9227 3000.



Related News

17 September 2021
Turnbull has a strong Breeders Challenge raid
TOP Bathurst horseman Steve Turnbull has a strong team aimed at tonight’s Breeders Challenge heats in Parkes. The premiership-winning trainer has six horses engaged in the two qualifiers, starting with a two-pronged attack in the fillies heat (race five). Turnbull will drive two-time winner Pas...
17 September 2021
Trial File: Captain among Blackbookers ready to win
Craig Rail's Trial File Blackbook has swelled to 22 with five additions, three of which will step out in the coming days and try and transform that eye-catching trial form into race-day wins. Captain Bellasario "was very impressive" at Cranbourne and Notnegotiable looks a "strong winning...
17 September 2021
Hawkesbury to Hunter Series unfolding well
THE Newcastle Harness Racing Club could not be happier with the way this year’s Wandiyali Hawkesbury to Hunter Series has unfolded. Three qualifying heats were run last week with the most impressive winner being the Mark Callaghan-trained Sky Diamond, which produced a whirlwind finish with Tom...
17 September 2021
Tasmanian Harness Highlights podcast – Friday, 17 September
The feature races are rolling around quickly on the Tasmanian harness racing calendar and Duncan Dornauf doesn’t miss a thing in the Harness Highlights podcast. The Devonport track has recently been resurfaced and it produced some fast times across the nine race card last Sunday. Watchmylips was...
Click for more