Australian Harness Racing Awards
2009 Australian Harness Horse of the Year
Excerpt from HRA Press Release: 23 September 2009

AHHY Chronicles

2009 Australian Harness Horse of the Year

World conquering pacer Mr Feelgood USA has added 2009 Australian Harness Horse of the Year to his already imposing record of achievement.

Mr Feelood USA has taken the Australasian harness racing industry by storm since arriving from North America in 2008 following an inspired purchase by Kevin Seymour, Peter O’Shea and Clinton Payne.

Among his 2009 achievements, the Grinfromeartoear USA stallion claimed Australasia's biggest prize, the million dollar Watpac Inter Dominion Pacing Grand Final at the Gold Coast in March and tied with Blacks A Fake for the Barastoc Grand Circuit Champion crown.

The Australian Harness Horse of the Year is awarded after compiling the votes from media representatives across the nation and based on the racing performances of all horses during the 2008-09 season. The result was clear cut with Mr Feelgood USA claiming four times the votes of the nearest rival.

Expertly mentored by Tim Butt, and piloted by his brother Anthony, Mr Feelgood’s major performances are listed below:



Mr Feelgood USA driven by Anthony Butt
winning the 2009 AG Hunter Cup


2008/2009 Performances:  7 starts 3 wins 2 placings $829,825 P.1:56.6MS

* 2009 Watpac Inter Dominion Pacing Championship $1,000,000 - G1 (AM Butt) Gold Coast, Qld
* 2009 BIG6 Hunter Cup $400,000 - G1 (AM Butt) Moonee Valley, Vic
* 2009 Shepparton Gold Cup $50,000 - G2 (AM Butt) Shepparton, Vic

Performances 2008/2009:   7 starts, 3 wins, 2 Placings, $829,825, 1:56.6MS

  For further information on Mr Feelgood USA.

Congratulations to Mr Feelgood's connections.

Andrew Kelly,
Chief Executive 

For Awards information pre-2001 refer to the Australian Harness Racing Annual

back to top